Bruce Springsteen announces film and live album “The Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts”



Watch the trailer for a film that first features full footage of the band’s full setlist at the September 1979 fundraising concerts.

By Scott Bernstein Sep 23, 2021 • 8:34 a.m. PDT

Bruce springsteen And the E Street Band’s The headlining performances of a pair of September 1979 benefit concerts at Madison Square Garden in New York City are featured on The legendary concerts without nuclear weapons of 1979, a film and a live album which will be released in several formats in November via The Premium Content division of Sony Music Entertainment, in partnership with Sony Pictures Home Entertainment. While the film is due out for digital download on November 16 and digital rental on November 23, the film and live album arrive in physical formats (2CD with DVD, 2CD with Blu-Ray and 2LP) on November 19.

Long-time Springsteen collaborator Thom Zimny ​​edited the original 16mm footage from No Nukes: The Muse Concerts For A Non-Nuclear Future on September 21-22, 1979 into a single composite performance for the film. Bob Clearmountain has remixed the audio for the next release. Highlights of the 90-minute set include live favorites “Born To Run” and “Thunder Road” as well as early versions of “The River” and “Sherry Darling” as well as a cover of “Stay” by Maurice Williams with special guests Jackson browne, Tom Small and rosemary butler.

“A few years ago, I started re-examining the filmed archives of Bruce and the band’s appearances at the 1979 No Nukes concerts,” Zimny ​​explained. “I quickly realized that these were the best performances and best shoots of the band’s legendary 70s, and I was dedicated to bringing out the full potential of the footage. Having worked as Bruce’s director and senior editor for the past 20 years, I can say without reservation that this recently re-released, remixed and restored 90 minute film is the gold standard for Bruce and the band LIVE during the one of their greatest creative moments. periods. “

“The ’70s were a golden era in the history of Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, and the legendary No Nukes concerts of 1979 are the greatest record of that era we’ve ever had,” Bruce’s manager added. , Jon Landau. “It’s a pure rock show from start to finish, the energy level is transcendent and the mastery of the art and craft of rock music is impressive.”

Today’s announcement comes on Springsteen’s 71st birthday. Overview The legendary concerts without nuclear weapons of 1979 by watching the trailer below:

The legendary concerts without nuclear weapons of 1979 List of tracks

  1. Prove it all night
  2. Wild lands
  3. The promised land
  4. River
  5. Sherry darling
  6. Thunder road
  7. Jungleland
  8. Rosalita is going out tonight
  9. Born to run
  10. To stay
  11. Detroit Medley
  12. Two forty-five
  13. Rave on



Leave A Reply